First Team News
First Team

Salisbury: 10 Things

Posted by Kelly Gilchrist
Posted on Mon 3 Feb 2014
Posted in First Team

  1. The club formed in 1947, known then as Salisbury FC and nicknamed The Whites.

  1. This is only Salisbury’s second spell in the Conference Premier. The first stint occurred in 2007/08, where they remained until 2010 following demotion. The club was promoted last season via the Play-Offs after finishing second in the Conference South.

  2. The Conference Premier League is the highest tier of English football that Salisbury have been members of.

  1. Mikey Harris became the youngest full-time manager when he took charge of Salisbury last July at the age of 28.

  1. The sale of Matt Tubbs to Crawley Town in 2010 set a club record fee received, which is believed to be in the region of Β£70,000.

  1. Salisbury reached the FA Cup third round proper for the first time in 2011, where they lost 3-1 against Sheffield United at Bramall Lane.

  1. Home to Salisbury is the Raymond McEnhill Stadium, which was built in 1997. It was named after the then chairman Raymond McEnhill and can officially hold 3,500 fans.

  1. The record attendance at the Raymond McEnhill Stadium stands at 3,408, when Salisbury beat Dover Athletic 3-2 in the Conference South Play-Off final in 2013. However, the club’s official record attendance was attained in 1948 – the club’s very first season in existence – when 8,902 fans watched the championship decider against Weymouth, which finished 1-1.

  2. Salisbury won back to back promotions starting in 2005. The side finished top in the Southern League Premier Division in 2005/06, followed by winning the Conference South Play-Off final in 2006/07, beating Braintree Town 1-0 in the final.

  1. The Whites have won the Wiltshire Premier Shield an impressive 15 times. The competition was also won on back to back seasons in 1959/60, 1960/61 and 1961/62. In both 1960 and 1961, the squad also won the Alan Young Cup.

Read more posts by Kelly Gilchrist