First Team News
First Team

Wrexham: 10 Things

Posted by FC Halifax Town
Posted on Sun 21 Apr 2019
Posted in First Team

Wrexham currently sit 4th in the National League having enjoyed a fruitful campaign thus far. The Welsh side are looking to clinch promotion back to the football league for the first time since 2008.

In 2018/19 their top Scorers are Stuart Beavon and Shaun Pearson with 6 goals. This is quite a remarkable statistic considering all the teams around them have players on 15 plus goals.

Wrexham’s Manager is Bryan Hughes, having taken over the club in early 2019. The Liverpudlian started his career with the Welsh side in 1994.

They play at the racecourse stadium which has a capacity of over 10,000, making it one of the biggest stadiums in non-league football.

They are the third oldest professional club in Britain having been founded all the way back in 1864. Only Notts County and Stoke City are older.

Arguably their greatest hour came in 1992 when they shocked Arsenal in the FA Cup. Goals from Mickey Thomas and Steve Watkin sealed a famous win.

They have competed in the National League since being relegated from League Two at the end of the 2007-08 season.

Since 2011 they have been a supporter owned football club.

They made the play offs for three years in a row during 2010-2013 but failed to clinch promotion having lost in the play-off final in 2013. Between that defeat and 2017, Wrexham struggled to reproduce this form as they endured several average seasons.

They are now once again pushing for promotion, and they will hope this year is the year that they return to the Football League after a 11-year absence.


Read more posts by FC Halifax Town