Match Report News
Match Report

Thackley: Match Report

Posted by FC Halifax Town
Posted on Tue 31 Oct 2017
Posted in Match Report

FC Halifax Town progressed to the next round of the West Riding County Cup after a 3-2 victory over Thackley AFC at The Mitton Stadium.

Halifax came from behind after Mike Garrod’s early penalty with a brace from Ben Tomlinson and one from George Waring cancelling out Joe Hughes’ header.

It was Thackley who made the perfect start to the game with a goal inside the opening six minutes. Mike Garrod fired the ball into the top left corner from the penalty sport after Nathan Hotte brought down Joe Hughes.

After chances from Ben Tomlinson and Danny Clarke, George Waring eventually found the equaliser just before the half hour mark. The Tranmere loanee brought down Ross Barrows’ from the left before sending the ball into the back of the net.

Less than ten minutes later, Town were in front when Tomlinson found room on the edge of the penalty area and unleashed a shot into the bottom right corner.

It seemed that Halifax were set to go into half-time with the lead before Thackley struck deep in the half. Jamie Underwood’s cross from the right-hand side was superbly put home from a diving header by Hughes leaving the score a 2-2 at the interval.

The second-half started rather slowly with a speculative half-volley from David Lynch which went high and wide the closest that Town came to score in the opening 15 minutes.

Five minutes later though, Halifax’s quality returned as Tomlinson completed his double. The winger drilled a low shot into the bottom left corner from 20 yards out in a similar effort to his previous strike.

Halifax came close to increasing their lead through a header from Waring after a corner whilst Josh MacDonald was just unable to meet a drilled crossed free-kick by Jake Hibbs.

In added time, Liam King had the game’s final chance as the midfielder smashed the ball over the bar from inside the penalty area after being played in behind by Tomlinson.

Thackley AFC: #1 Luke Wilson, #2. James Ngoe, #3. James Rothel, #4. Pat McGuire, #5. Kesi Omolokun, #6 Kristian Hargreaves, #7. Jamie Underwood, #8. Paul Whiteley, #9. Joe Hughes, #10. Mike Garrod, #11. Julius Omosebi

Subs: #12. Jerry White, #14. Nathan Woodward, #15. Ethan Walshaw

FC Halifax Town: #13. Nicholson, #2. Barrows, #12. Lynch, #6. Garner (C), #8. Nathan Hotte, #18. Danny Clarke, #19. Liam King, #20. Jake Hibbs, #38. George Waring, #14. Ben Tomlinson, #15. Josh MacDonald

Subs: #1. Jack Atkinson, #16. Adam Morgan, #4. Marco Basic, #43. Shiraz Khan, #10. Connor Oliver

Referee: Tom Nield


Read more posts by FC Halifax Town