First Team News
First Team

Stockport County: 10 Things

Posted by Kelly Gilchrist
Posted on Mon 15 Aug 2016
Posted in First Team


1. Stockport County F.C. were formed in 1883 as Heaton Norris Rovers, and then adopted their team name in 1890 after the County Borough of Stockport.

2. The team’s nickname of “The Hatters” originates from the town’s former hat-making industry.

3. Edgeley Park has been home to Stockport County for 114 years, moving in in 1902. Between 2003-2012 the stadium was shared with Sale Sharks rugby union club.

4. Stockport worryingly hold a Football League Record, the biggest home win” 13-0 vs Halifax Town, set on 6th January 1934.

5. County joined the Football League in 1900 and competed in it continuously from 1905 to 2011.

6. During the 90s the team competed in the First Division (now known as the Championship) for five seasons, during this span they also reached the League Cup semi-finals in 1997.

7. Stockport are currently the longest surviving Football League team to drop out of the league, having played in the league for a total of 110 years before their relegation to the Conference National in the 2010/11 season.

8. Manager Jim Gannon is in his third managerial stint for the club, and is quite the County legend, having been elected by the fans into the “County Hall of Fame”. The defender spent 10 years at the club during the 90s, making 383 appearances.

9. Dietmar Hamann briefly managed the club in 2011, during the ultimately unsuccessful takeover of the club by Liverpool-based businessman Tony Evans. Hamann won just three of his 19 games in charge, and resigned in November.

10. Stockport County finished the 2015/16 season 9th in the Vanarama National League North.

Read more posts by Kelly Gilchrist