First Team News
First Team

Hartlepool United: Match Report

Posted by Luke Davis
Posted on Sat 19 Dec 2020
Posted in First Team

FC Halifax Town Progress to the next round of the FA Trophy after beating Hartlepool United 4-2 on penalties.

Goals from Luke Summerfield, Gevaro Nepomuceno, and debutant Billy Chadwick were cancelled out by Luke Williams, Nicky Featherstone, and Gavan Holohan. It was Chadwick who got the winning penalty for Halifax before Holohan missed the crucial kick.

Town started the much brighter team, winning a penalty in the 11th minute. Gevaro Nepomuceno cut inside from the left wing and after beating a few men was brought down inside the box. Luke Summerfield stepped up to take and beat the keeper, firing low into the bottom right corner.

Two minutes later and The Shaymen doubled their lead. Summerfield turning provider fired a perfect diagonal ball over the top to Nepomuceno. Despite a slightly heavy touch, the winger smashed it past the keeper to make it 2-0.

Hartlepool pulled one back in the 27th minute from the penalty spot. Luke Williams stepped up after the referee saw a handball in the box and was quick to blow the whistle. Williams fired it into the top corner, sending Sam Johnson the wrong way.

As both sides looked to get a stranglehold on the game, neither side created too many clear-cut chances. In the 54th minute, Nyal Bell broke clear of the Hartlepool defence. Despite doing enough to get past his man, his shot from distance went high into the south stand.

Again, Town continued to threaten. A great run from Jack Earing down the right saw him in behind. A good cut back found Jeff King, but his powerful effort went high and wide.

With less than 20 minutes left on the clock, Hartlepool won a second penalty. A corner came in and was handballed off the line by Jeff King who was sent off for the offense. Substitute Nicky Featherstone stepped up and sent S Johnson the wrong way to level the scores.

It did not take long for Town to regain the lead. New signing Billy Chadwick did very well to take past several defenders before firing low into the bottom right corner to make it 3-2.

The goals kept coming as Hartlepool came back level. Substitute Gavan Holohan picked the ball up on the left side and fired a curling shot past S Johnson to level the scores once again.

With just three minutes left, Town won a corner after Chadwick was dispossessed on the touchline. A low cross came in from Summerfield, but Niall Maher’s header went comfortably over the bar.

This result means The Shaymen will now play in the next round of the FA Trophy which will be held on the 16th of January. Halifax face Eastleigh at home this Tuesday 19:00 kick off.

FC Halifax Town: 1 Sam Johnson; 2 Jeff King; 3 Jack Senior; 5 Neill Byrne; 10 Jack Earing; 15 Gevaro Nepomuceno (11 Danny Williams 69’); 19 Luke Summerfield; 26 Martin Woods (8 Kieran Green 78’); 31 Niall Maher ©; 36 Billy Chadwick; 39 Nyal Bell (7 Jamie Allen 61’)

Unused substitutes: 12 Harrison Davison-Hale; 6 Tom Bradbury; 20 Dom Tear; 32 Neil Danns

Hartlepool United: 21 Henrich Ravas; 2 Lewis Cass; 7 Ryan Donaldson ©; 15 Ryan Johnson; 17 Josh Macdonald (12 Joe Grey 60’); 18 Luke Williams (8 Nicky Featerstone 45’); 19 David Parkhouse (14 Gavan Holohan 66’); 22 Tom Crawford; 29 Luke Armstrong; Tyler Magloire; 39 Joe Bunney

Unused substitutes: 1 Ben Killip; 5 Timi Odusina; 9 Mason Bloomfield; 11 Rhys Oates

Referee: Steven Copeland

Assistants: Jamie Rhodes & Dane McCarrick

4th Official: Abid Hussain

Yellow Cards: R Johnson 66’

Red Cards: King 73’

Goals: Summerfield 12’, Nepomuceno 14’, Williams 27’, Featherstone 74’, Chadwick 75’, Holohan 78’

Halifax Penalties: Senior, Summerfield, Maher, Chadwick

Hartlepool penalties: Featherstone, Armstrong

FC Halifax Town 3 Hartlepool United 3 (4-2 on penalties)

Read more posts by Luke Davis