League News

FA Trophy Roundup

Posted by FC Halifax Town
Posted on Wed 20 Dec 2017
Posted in League

FC Halifax Town and Macclesfield Town will have to wait even longer to find out who will advance into the next round of the Buildbase FA Trophy after the match last night was called off.

With fans in the stadium, the call to postpone the fixture came 30 minutes before the encounter was supposed to kick off, after the playing surface was deemed unsafe.

Elsewhere, the game between Gateshead and Guiseley was also cancelled due to a frozen pitch, but is expected to be played tomorrow.

There was some action last night though, as it took penalties to separate Boreham Wood and Dartford in the replay following Saturday’s 1-1 draw between the two.

Boreham Wood’s Shaun Jeffers left it until the 8th minute of injury time to send the game to extra time after their valiant visitors twice took the lead through Ryan Hayes and Danny Mills.

Once there however, Grant Smith saved the home team’s blushes, saving 3 of the 4 penalty kicks he faced, sending The Wood into the next round.

Two first half goals were enough for Solihull Moors as they beat Tranmere Rovers on Monday night, after the original Saturday fixture was abandoned due to a floodlight failure.

Jamey Osbourne and Jermaine Hylton were on hand to give The Moors, who went down to 10 men late on, a place in the next round.

Over 1,500 fans witnessed a shock win for Hereford FC, after they dumped Dagenham & Redbridge out of the cup with a 3-2 win. A late Mike Symons penalty settled the tie for the Evo-Stik Southern Division side after the Daggers fought back from conceding two early goals.

There were four all National League affairs played on Saturday, with Chester vs AFC Fylde the pick of the bunch.

Ross Hannah opened the scoring for the home side but Serhat Tasdemir left it late to equalise on the 90th minute.

The visitors appeared to have completed the turn around with Danny Rowe putting his side up in extra time but Lucas Dawson replied quickly to take the game to a penalty shootout, with Chester winning 5-4.

Maidenhead United advanced to the next round after a 2-0 victory away to Woking.

A goal from on-loan striker Moses Emmanuel put Alan Devonshire’s men ahead, before Jake Hyde put the result beyond doubt late on.

Ebbsfleet United left it late to grab a winner against Eastleigh.

A goal a piece within 2 minutes for both sides set up an intriguing conclusion to this clash, which saw Myles Weston make it 2-1 in the 92nd minute.

It was a straight forward victory for Maidstone United, as they thrashed a hapless Torquay United 4-0.

Magnus Okuonghae had The Stones up within a quarter of an hour, before strikes from Reece Prestedge, Joe Pigott and Tom Wraight completed the route.

It was not plain sailing for some National League sides, one of which were Aldershot Town, who were humbled by East Thurrock United.

The Vanarama National League South outfit went ahead at the half hour mark via a Cheye Alexander own goal, before Ted Richardson grabbed a hat trick to make it 4-0 to the underdogs.

A familiar face came back to haunt Wrexham as they were knocked out of the competition by Harrogate Town.

Mark Beck had a loan spell at the Racecourse Ground but failed to find the net in a Wrexham shirt, however, a brace from the 23 year old saw him grab a 2-0 win against his former side.

The surprise of the day perhaps saw Hartlepool United eliminated by Evo-Stik Premier Division side Workington.

A 82nd goal from Scott Allison was enough to see out a 1-0 victory over a team who, at the time of writing, sit 37 places ahead of them in the English footballing pyramid.

Mitchell Pinnock, Ryan Bird and James Alabi all scored as Dover Athletic swatted aside Eastbourne, while a late Craig Dundas goal settled it for Sutton United against Truro City.

The remaining games also saw routine victories for National League sides, with Barrow beating Nuneaton Town 1-0, Leyton Orient get a 2-0 victory over London neighbours Haringey Borough, and Bromley coming out on top against Hartley Wintney 2-0.

Read more posts by FC Halifax Town