First Team News
First Team

FA Trophy Round-up

Posted by Kelly Gilchrist
Posted on Wed 30 Nov 2016
Posted in First Team

FC Halifax Town bow out of the Buildbase FA Trophy in the third qualifying round after losing 3-2 to Matlock Town in the replay.

Marcus Dinanga grabbed a brace in the first half before Jake Hibbs and Matty Kosylo got the game back on level terms. Tom Denton had a volley from inside the box blaze over the bar, and that miss came back to haunt The Shaymen when Ted Cribley scored the eventual winner 15 minutes to play.

Fellow National League North side Brackley Town were also in action after Mickleover forced them into a replayafter drawing 1-1 on Saturday. Town made easy work of the Northern Premier League Division One South side beating them 3-1, with David Moyo and Matt Lowe scoring within a minute. Stephen Diggin killed off the away side with a penalty in the 57th minute, Adam Baskerville did score what was only a consolation in the 89th minute.

The shock of the round was at the Lamb Ground with Tamworth going down 4-0 to Farsley Celtic at home. James Walshaw grabbed a hat-trick for Farsley with Richard Marshall also getting in on the act as Celtic made easy work of the play-off chasing National League North outfit.
Southern League Premier Division side Weymouth made it into the first round of the FA Trophy after a 2-0 victory at home to Poole Town. Chris Shephard opened the scoring in the first half before former Hereford striker Stuart Fleetwood grabbed the second and put the game out of sight for Poole.

Hemel Hempstead suffered somewhat of an upset as they went down 1-0 to Worthing on Tuesday night. Brannon O’Neill scored the only goal of the game as Worthing of the Isthmian League Premier Division booked their place in the first round proper.

There was only the goal at St Albans, as Whitehawk managed to get the better of the home side second time round after drawing 1-1 on Saturday. Former Peterborough United man Danny Mills scored the only goal of the game minutes after half-time.

East Thurrock saw off Margate in the final qualifying round. Tom Wraight opened the scoring before Sam Higgins killed off any comeback in the 84th minute from Margate to, the jubilation of the fans, send the home side through.

And finally Wealdstone saw off Maidenhead to book their place in the first round proper of the Buildbase FA Trophy. It took up until the 59th minute for the scoring to open, when Matt Whichelow put Wealdstone ahead. Liam Goulding doubled their advantage just 20 minutes later, and Dave Tarpey set up a nervy last five or so minutes for the home side when he halved the deficit but Wealdstone held on for a hard-fought victory.

Read more posts by Kelly Gilchrist