League News

Award Winners From Vanarama National League`s Gala Evening

Posted by Kelly Gilchrist
Posted on Sun 11 Jun 2017
Posted in League

The manager of the year awards went to Danny Cowley, who led Lincoln City to the National League title as well as their fantastic run in the Emirates FA Cup.

Dave Challinor picked up the National League North award as he led AFC Fylde to the title and promotion to the top flight of non-League football for the first time.

And Alan Devonshire was rewarded for doing likewise for Maidenhead United in the National league South.

The Merit Awards go to Lincoln City and Sutton United for their performances in the Emirates FA Cup.

The winner of the Long Service award was Guiseley AFC’s Philip Rogerson.

Woking Football in the Community have once again come out winners at the National League`s Annual Congress held at Celtic Manor on Saturday.

Nominated for Best Schools Project and Overall Winner in The National League Trusts Community awards the Cards came out winners in the Best Schools Project.

`Maths of the Day` was launched this year with support from SJB secondary school and six local primary schools.

The project brings together local school children who take part in various activities throughout the day.

Activities include, multiplication using various sports activities, adding and subtracting using top trumps with first-team players key stats and the measuring of the football pitch and dugout areas.

“We are delighted to win this award and would like to thank our partner schools and The National League Trust for the support they provide throughout the year”.

Chester FC`s Community Trust were presented with one of the National League`s prestigious annual awards.

The Trust were nominated for the best community project with player involvement – in particular a partnership with the University of Chester which saw Evan Horwood delivering coaching to University Teams.

CEO Mark Maguire, who was attending the AGM on behalf of the club, said: “It is a fantastic indication of the growing status of the Community Trust where Jim Green is building on the platform created by Jon McCarthy.

“There is some brilliant work going on and it is particularly exciting that this award celebrates the closeness of partnership between the Club and the Trust. I’d like to congratulate Jim, his staff and the Trust Board for their efforts and look forward to many more awards demonstrating Chester FC’s community credentials in the future.”

David Evans, Chair of the Community Trust, added: “We would like to thank the National League for this fantastic vote of confidence in our community programme.

“We are particularly delighted as we work hard to make sure we live up to our motto: Our City, Our Community, Our Club. We believe that involving players is central to success. This award will enable us to grow our programme.

“We would also like to thank the National League Trust and – of course – our Principal Sponsors MBNA. Their support continues to be substantial and invaluable.”

The Trust received a cheque for £5,000 from the National League Trust as well as a trophy.

Oxford City have been awarded Best Disability Project at the annual National League Awards.

Pictured collecting the award and cheque for £5,000 from Brian Lee are director of football Justin Merritt and chairman Brian Cox.

East Thurrock United, Brackley Town and Dagenham & Redbridge picked up the Respect and Fair Play awards for the respective three divisions.

Read more posts by Kelly Gilchrist